Names Society of Southern Africa
Society Aims
Society History
Photo Gallery

Application Form

Previous Congresses


Nomina Africana
Previous Contents
Previous Authors
Photo Gallery

Click on the photo thumbnails below to see the larger versions of the images

Since the 9th NSA Congress in Pietermaritzburg, Adrian Koopman has been making batik banners for NSA congress. This one, featuring the congress logo of a whale, was made for the 10th Congress in Hermanus in 1998.

Seen at the 13th NSA Congress in Maputo, Mozambiques, in 2004, are (from left to right) Themba Moyo, Linda Van Hussteen, Elwyn Jenkins and Langa Mathenjwa.

Seen at the 13th NSA Congress at Maputo in 2004 are: Front table, extreme right: Bertie Neethling; behind him and partially obscured is Dirk Meiring; to the right Babs Meiring, then Noleen Turner, then an unidentified delegate,  and then on the right Attie Coetser.

Delegates to the 13th NSA Congress in Mozambique relax on the upper deck of a cruiseboat at the Bilene Lagoon during the congress excursion.

Delegates to the 14th NSA Congress at Ithala Game Reserve in northern KZN in 2006. Most of them are wearing the congress T-shirt which shows the rhino logo used for the 14th congress.

Seen on the campus of York University in Toronto, Canada, during the 23rd Cogress of the International Council of Onomastic Sciences (ICOS) in 2008 are (from left to right) Richard Coates of the United Kingdom, Nobuhle Hlongwa of the University of kwaZulu-Natal, Milan Harvalik of the Czech republic, and an unidentified delegate from the Czech republic.

Seen on the boat “Maid of the Mist” during an excursion to Niagara Falls during the 23rd ICOS Congress in Toronto in 2008, are Adrian Koopman and Nobuhle Hlongwa.

Seen during the Congress dinner during the 23rd ICOS Congress in Totonto in 2008 are (from left to right) Bertie Neethling of the University of the Western Cape and NSA Vice-president, his wife Vicky, Suzanne de Roche-Loeffler and Heirich Loeffler both of Switzerland and both long-time supporters of the Names Society.

The prawn logo used for the 13th Congress in Maputo shown on Adrian Koopman’s batik congress banner.

During a break in the program of the 16th NSA Congress at Club Mykonos at Langebaan in the Western Cape in 2010, Nobuhle Hlongwa and Peter Raper reached an agreement on a joint research project. Between them is Lucie Möller.

A tea-break during the 16th Congress at Club Mykonos in 2010. From left to right are: Dirk Meiring, Tessa Dowling, Babs Meiring, Adrian Koopman and Sonja Bosch.

Marja Kalska from northern Finland during her presentation at the 16th NSA Congress. In the background is the congress banner featuring the gannet logo of the congress.

Six South African delegates to the 24th ICOS Congress held in Barcelona, Spain, in September 2011. From left to right are: Nobuhle Hlongwa, Nakanjani Sibiya, Gugu Mazibuko, Boni Zungu, Adrian Koopman and Enoch Mabuza.

Professors Nobuhle Hlongwa (UKZN) and Kaisa Rautio Helander (Norway) join the dance troupe at the reception held to open the 15th NSA Congress in Durban in July 2010.

Bertie Neethling, Nhlanhla Mathonsi and Adrian Koopman with the 2014 Congress banner

The sun setting over the Zambezi River during the Congress Sunset Cruise

The Congress Organising Committe. From left: Sambulo Ndlovu, Wellington Masosa, Tendai Mangena (Chair), Oliver Nyambi, Michael Mazuru.

NSSA Exco old and new: Incoming and out going members of the NSSA Executive Committee. The incoming members: back row, from left: Sambulo Ndlovu, Maleshoane Rapeane-Mathonsi, Livingstone Makondo, Nhlanhla Mathonsi, Diketso Dube, Tendai Mangena, Elias Mabuza, Nobuhle Hlongwa. Outgoing members: Bertie Neethling, Adrian Koopman (outgoing president, but stays on as editor of Nomina Africana), Noleen Turner.

A view of the Victoria Falls

A view of the Victoria Falls

The Green Room at the Cresta Sprayview Hotel, where the congress was held.

Noleen Turner (outgoing Editorial Secretary) and Bertie Neethling (outgoing Vice-President)

Nhlanhla Mathonsi (incoming NSSA President) and Adrian Koopman (outgoing NSSA President) at the start of the congress.

Names Society of Southern Africa (2019)